Saturday , January 19 2019
Home / NTSE Exam Pattern 2016-2017

NTSE Exam Pattern 2016-2017

The NCERT has not prescribed any set syllabus for the NTSE. The examination consists of tests namely Mental Ability Test (MAT) and Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT), which also includes Language Comprehensive Test (LCT). The items in the MAT, SAT & LCT are multiple choice questions. Each question has four alternatives. Candidates have to select one correct answer from the given alternatives and mark its number in the answer-sheet as per instructions given on the answer sheet. Each correct answer carries one mark and for each wrong answer there is a negative marking scheme announced from session 2013-14. Thus, the total score of a candidate in a test is equal to the number of questions answered correctly by him/her.

Updated NTSE Exam Pattern by NCERT:

NTSE Pattern 2016-17
PAPER TEST No.of Ques. No. of Marks Duration (in minutes)
Paper-I Mental Ability Test(MAT) 50 50 45
Paper-II Language Comprehensive Test (LCT) 50 50 45
Paper-III Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT)* 100 100 90
Total 200 Ques. 200 marks 180 Minutes
* (SAT) Math 20 Q. + 40 Q. Science + 40 Q. Social Studies

Leave a Reply